How (not) to Curse in Slovene Language

A while ago I was hanging out with a group of people from all around the world and somehow we’ve came to talk about our native languages, more specific about the swear words and phrases. When we’ve started translating words and expressions from our native languages to English, it turned out, Slovene language has some unique and interesting possibilities to express irritation or angriness. Because it was surprisingly fun and interesting conversation, I thought it would make an interesting blog post.

The most commonly used are those swear words and phrases taken from Serbian and Croatian and Slovene versions of expressions similarly insulting as those in other languages (e.g. the F word). There is also a third group of swear words and phrases – traditional Slovene. Despite most of those are not used in everyday life anymore, are in my opinion the most interesting. To name just a few of them:  

Tristo kosmatih medvedov = Three hundred hairy bears

Naj te koklja brcne = May the chicken kick you.

Krščen Matiček = Baptised Matt/Matthias

Je bela cesta = The road is white

Šmentana muha – Darn housefly

Spelji se = Drive away

Tristo hudičev = Three hundred devils

Zaleti se nekam = Run/Crash into something

Pismo = The letter

Pes te nima rad = Even dog doesn’t like you

Mat kurja = Chicken’s mother

Govedo neotesano = Rude cattle

Tele zagamano = Stupid calf

Naj ti ohrovt zgnije = May your kale rot

Pr’ mej duš = In my soul

Gromska strela = Thunderous lightning

Kristusove gate = Christ’s underwear/knickers

Solit se pojdi! – Get yourself salted!

creative-translation-idioms-franklyfluent-fb

©Bored Panda

As you can see, some of those are quite imaginative. Do you have any similar curse words and phrases in your language?

 

 

faraway_files_blog_linkup_badge

16 thoughts on “How (not) to Curse in Slovene Language

    • Urska @ Slovenian Girl Abroad says:

      Thanks for the offer, but I think I would rather stay at my native three hundred hairy bears & Christ’s knickers. Hehehe 😀

      Like

  1. Sue Slaght says:

    ‘May your kale rot’. Having visited Slovenia and the people so friendly this doesn’t surprise me. Haha these are hilarious and so cute. I do remember the three hundred hairy bears phrase. I certainly hoped not to see that on my bike. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kei says:

    I really like these. If I even used these in English they would be perfect for everyday use! In Japanese, they say “ippen shinde hou ga ii” which means “you should die once.” That is probably my favorite one.

    Like

  3. Elena says:

    Very interesting! When I read the phrases I more or less know what most of the words mean as Russian and Slovene language belong to the same group. But what the phrase means altogether is very tricky to guess! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Katy says:

    Urska I love this post! How fabulous. Even the dog doesn’t like you is a pretty serious insult! The former Australian Prime Minister Paul Keating had some awesome insults. My favourite was – he’s all tip and no iceberg! Thanks for sharing on #FarawayFiles

    Liked by 1 person

  5. oregongirlaroundtheworld says:

    Oh my gosh I love this! Even the dog doesn’t love you! HARSH! Living in Denmark, I’ve come across a fair share here too. Danes do REALLY like to use the F-word, which was a bit of a shock when we first moved here as it was the only word I recognized on the train. But one of my favorite Danish expressions to tell somewhen when they should chill out is “Spis lige brød til,” which literally means eat some bread! Haha!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

