Slovenia Road Trip – Overview

From 9th to 15th August 2016, I’ve attended the road-trip around Slovenia with my husband, and two friends from Germany. Six days were not nearly enough to see everything what my home-country has to offer, but it was enough our friends get the sense of how diverse and beautiful Slovenia is.

Škocjan caves

Škocjan caves

ITINERARY

Day 1:

We left Switzerland late in the afternoon and arrived to Slovenian seaside late in the evening. We’ve spent the night in the port-town Koper.

Portorož beach

Day 2:

We’ve planned to spend the second day at the beach, but the weather didn’t cooperate with us. Since it started to rain in the morning, the temperatures dropped drastically. After a stroll by the beach and in Portorož, we’ve given up. We decided to realise plan B and visit the Škocjan Caves. After the visit of this UNESCO World Heritage Site, we’ve returned to our hotel in Koper. In the evening, we went to the Piran where we stroll around the old town and had delicious dinner at one of the restaurants.

Piran campanile

Day 3:

On the third day, we left the seaside and drove through karst region to the scenic Soča valley. Our destination there was Bovec, a tiny town by the Soča river surrounded by high mountains of Julian Alps. There we’ve attended the rafting trip at this stunningly beautiful river. After the rafting trip we went for a late lunch, strolled around the town and then spent the rest of the evening watching the Olympics and playing beer-pong.

On the road towards Bovec

Day 4:

On the fourth day of our road-trip we left Soča valley early in the morning. We’ve crossed the mountain pass Predel, drove short distance through Italy until we arrived to the Upper Sava Valley and Planica – an alpine valley famous for its ski jumping hills. During the summer months, there is a zip-line at the largest ski-jumping hill that tires to stimulate ski jump and we did it. Full of adrenaline, we left Planica. We’ve continued our trip at Bled where we’ve rented a boat and row to the island. Then we chilled by the lake Bled before we left for Ljubljana. There we discovered the Old town. At some point in the evening, a friend from Switzerland joined us with his girlfriend and we went partying together.

Lake Bled

Day 5:

Exhausted from the previous sleepless night we went for a quick stroll around Old part of Ljubljana to see it in daylight. Then we left for Maribor. After a quick stop at Trojane where we’ve picked up the famous Trojane berliners (doughnut), we soon arrived to our home-town. At the weekend house of my in-laws at the outskirts of Maribor, we’ve had a picnic and enjoy the lazy afternoon in the sun. in the evening we went to the centre of the Maribor to do the sightseeing. After, we’ve met with some of our Slovenian friends by the couple of drinks.

Weekend house views

Day 6 & 7:

On the sixth day, I decided to spent some quality time with my parents. My brother took my place in the car and joined my husband and friends at their visit of aqua park in Terme Ptuj.

After a good night’s sleep, my husband and friends packed their bags and left for Switzerland, while I’ve prolonged my stay in Maribor to house-sit my parent’s home and take care of their pets.

Gorgeous Slovenian Alps

16 thoughts on “Slovenia Road Trip – Overview

  1. Manja Mexi Movie says:

    Lovely. I was there from 1-15 August. We weren’t quite as active as you and didn’t cover as much ground, but I was amazed at the beauties of my country all over again, as if I saw them for the first time, especially Bled, Logarska dolina and Kamniška Bistrica. We are lucky, aren’t we? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Urska @ Slovenian Girl Abroad says:

      Indeed we are. 🙂 I think, I didn’t really appreciated the beauty of our country until I moved abroad. Now I really want to stay and explore it in detail, but it’s a hard call because I would like to spend some time with my family and friends and those two things are not necessarily compatible. 😀 #expatproblems

      Liked by 1 person

  2. lclalor says:

    We visited Koper in 2012 for just a day while on a cruise from Barcelona to Venice. My favorite part was having a tour of the city from three Slovenian girls who are friends of our son. We really got the local perspective in the company of native Slovenians. You have a beautiful country.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Awa on the Road says:

    Oh, you haven’t seen at all the beauties of eastern Slovenia (only the most popular spots). Next time you really have to show your friends the more rural part with Termes, castles and little mountain villages 🙂

    Like

  4. Urska - Slovenian Girl Abroad says:

    I know! Unfortunately 6 days were not nearly enough to see all the beautiful places we wanted them to see. But considering we and both of our friends had great time in Slovenia, I’m sure this wasn’t their last visit. 😀

    Like

  5. Pooja @lostinprettyeurope says:

    Slovenia is so beautiful! I went there this year as a part of our Euro road trip and very much intend to go back! 🙂 We were just in Ljubljana and Bled area for one day and shortly left for Austria and so on. I was stunned by the scenery that your country has to offer, and only much later I found out that Slovenia has a small coastline at the Adriatic as well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Urska - Slovenian Girl Abroad says:

      Yeah, we have a little bit of everything: mountains, wine-growing hills, sea, flatland, caves… I’m happy to hear you liked my home country. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

